About Us

About Us


Big Brothers Sisters Gulf Coast has been mentoring the youth of Galveston County since 1975. As an affiliate agency of Big Brothers Big Sisters of America, we are part of the oldest and largest one-to-one mentoring organization in the country.


We believe we are stronger together, and our attention is focused on connecting the community through mentoring. By working with volunteers, parents, and children, we are quietly delivering amazing results.


The mission of Big Brothers Sisters Gulf Coast is to create and support one-to-one mentoring relationships that ignite the power and promise of youth.




The vision of Big Brothers Big Sisters Gulf Coast is for all youth to achieve their full potential. By partnering with parents/guardians, volunteers and others in Galveston County and eastern Brazoria County, we are accountable for each child in our program achieving higher aspirations, greater confidence, and better relationships. Collectively, we are contributing to better schools, brighter futures and stronger communities for all.

Need to get in touch with us?

Board of Directors 2019

D’Lorah Berry, President
Galveston Newspapers, Inc., Business Manager


Mary Dickson, Vice-President


Billy Joe Strawn, Treasurer
Sherwin Williams, Sales Representative


Steven E. Conner, Past President
Regents Management Services, President/CEO


Shannon Burke, Board Secretary
Big Brothers Big Sisters Gulf Coast, Executive Director


Laurie Boeh


Gerald Cleveland


Richard DeVries
Standard Steel Supply, President


Gloria Diaz
Frost Bank, Vice President


Harriet Dues
Stewart Title Co., Director of Marketing


Rejone Edwards
3910 Enterprises


Pamela Hughes Gabriel
Sand ‘N Sea Pirates Beach, Realtor

Sara Hawkes


Nicki Huprich
RE/MAX Leading Edge


Steve Mataro
DSW Homes


Karen Owen
Broadway Drug Store, Pharmacist


Ben Peterek
Gulfside Cleaning Services


Janice Pierson


Marie Robb
Coastal Solutions, Inc.


Bob Senter
Rust-Ewing Insurance


Terri Simpton


Cynthia Smith
Affinity Immediate Care, Public Relations Manager


Charles Tompkins
Port Parking & EZ Cruise Parking


Brenda Weber

Board Advisory Committee Members


Susan Broll


Chris Delesandri


H. Ross Grief


Michael J. Guarino, II


Carol Kappler


J. Scott Kusnerik


Colleen Laine


Frances Powell


Douglas Rogers


Jim Schweitzer


Marc Shabot


Lindsey White